Advising


Advisors

Students at Labette Community College are assigned an advisor when they begin their college experience. Advisors assist students in the following ways:

  • Discuss education and career goals
  • Provide information about degrees, certificates, and concentrations
  • Provide referrals to other departments when needed
  • Assist with scheduling and course selection
  • Track progress towards goals
  • Provide information about transfer requirements

Academic Advisors are located in the Student Union and Cherokee Center. The Admissions Director and Admissions Recruiter also serve as academic advisors. Academic advisors assist students who are

  • Entering college for the first time
  • Undecided about a major
  • Non-degree seeking
  • Majoring in liberal studies

Faculty Advisors and Advising Specialists are assigned to students who have declared a particular major or degree.  These are individuals who either teach in the field of concentration or have received specialized training in the requirements of a particular program. Additionally, students enrolled in Student Support Services receive additional advising assistance.


First-Time Student?

Check out the steps listed on the Admissions Checklist or contact one of the Academic Advisors listed to the right.  


Need to Contact an Advisor?

Click on this list below to obtain contact information for your advisor.

Advisor by Name
Advisor by Discipline

Main Campus

Nancy Newby

Extension & Concurrent Coordinator 
(620) 820-1221
nancyn@labette.edu

Lori Ford

Office Technology Coordinator
(620) 820-1242
lorif@labette.edu

Kylie Lucas

Admissions Director
(620) 820-1225
kyliep@labette.edu

Ross Harper

Admissions Recruiter
(620) 820-1241
rossh@labette.edu

Cherokee Center

Tarah Cockrell

Cherokee Center Coordinator
(620) 232-5820
tarahc@labette.edu

Ashley Savage

Cherokee Center Assistant
(620) 232-5820
ashleys@labette.edu

LCC on Facebook