Labette Community College Celebrates Student Achievements at Annual Awards Ceremony

April 25, 2024

Top 20 Cardinals
L-R FBLA Collegiate student, Mia Howard, and her advisor Cathy Kibler. Kibler recognized Howard's first place and third place accomplishments at the recent statewide leadership conference. Howard qualified to compete at nationals in Florida later this summer. Kibler was presented the 2024 Elaine Guy Advisor of the Year award.

Labette Community College (LCC) celebrated the achievements of its students during the annual Student Awards Ceremony held on Wednesday, April 26, 2024, in a nearly full Thiebaud Theatre. The event recognized students who have excelled in academics, leadership, and club participation throughout the academic year.

Kelly Kirkpatrick, Vice President of Student Affairs, and Dr. Mark Watkins, President of LCC, had the honor of presenting the Top 20 Cardinal Award to students who have gone above and beyond in contributing to the college’s mission. This prestigious award is based on students' GPA, school involvement, and community service.

  • Kaylee Walker - Altamont, Kansas

  • Becca Shackelford- Pittsburg, Kansas

  • Adilyn Daniels -Lamar, Missouri

  • Sydney Hart- Mulberry, Kansas

  • Angelo Falcade Consorte - Sao Paulo, Brazil

  • Carmella Stoneberger- Parsons, Kansas

  • Mackenzie Miden- Parker, Kansas

  • Isaiah Fox- Parsons, Kansas

  • Kimberleigh Colbert- Sheldon, Kansas

  • Mia Howard- Dennis, Kansas

  • Mikaela Padilla- Oklahoma

  • Natalie Mann - Chanute, Kansas

  • Amy Reynolds- Oswego, Kansas

  • Jillian Holwick - McLouth, Kansas

  • Kenly Dixon - Oologah, Oklahoma

  • Jessica Struffert- Grants Pass, Oregon

  • Dailyn Ortiz-Zapatero- Parsons, Kansas

  • Emma Welch - Webb City, Missouri

  • Tanihya Porter- Topeka, Kansas

  • Taylor Storm- Carl Junction, Missouri

"It’s always a joy to celebrate our students' accomplishments inside and outside the classroom," said Vice President of Student Affairs Kelly Kirkpatrick. "This night is about recognizing student leaders and honoring all they have contributed to LCC. We were thrilled to see so many family members and friends in attendance to support their LCC students"

Lindi Forbes, Executive Director of the LCC Foundation and Alumni Association, presented the Cardinal Leadership Award to Jacey Whitcomb of Cherryvale, Kansas. This award, established in 2015 by an anonymous donor, recognizes a student who has displayed outstanding leadership during their time at LCC. Whitcomb received a personalized desk pen set, a symbol of her leadership and a memento to carry forward into her future endeavors. “Jacey has provided leadership as President of Cardinal Crew and as a Captain of the LCC Spirit Squad,” said Forbes. “She has also volunteered at multiple alumni and foundation events, SGA events, and provided campus tours to prospective LCC students over the last two years.”

The LCC Library presented its 20th Annual “Paper of the Year” Awards, celebrating exceptional research and creative writing skills demonstrated by students. This year’s winners are Erika Conley, Zoe Gladson, Gisselle Henandez, Natalee Lewis, Amy Reynolds, and Rebecca Shackelford. Winners received plaques, certificates, and monetary awards, with first-place works being added to the library’s permanent collection. 

The Student Government Association recognized LCC’s 5-Star student organizations who help the college and students succeed and be successful. The following organizations received this award:

  • FBLA Collegiate

  • Radiography Club

  • Cardinal Crew

  • Student Ambassadors

  • Student Nursing Organization

  • Phi Theta Kappa

  • Psychology Club

  • Spirit Squad

The Elaine Guy Advisor of the Year award was presented to Cathy Kibler, Professor of Accounting and Business and advisor of FBLA Collegiate, to recognize her outstanding leadership, mentorship, and support provided to her students.

The ceremony concluded with recognition of the 2023-2024 Student Government Association (SGA) members for their commitment to ensure a safe, fun, and meaningful environment throughout the year for all students. Student Life Specialist and SGA Advisor, Harrison Hall, presented certificates of appreciation to the 2023-2024 SGA officer team.

  • SGA President – Haley Farran

  • SGA Vice President – Mary Jane Emerson

  • Secretary – Mia Howard

  • Treasurer – Maddyson Tyler

  • Senator- Addisyn Fowler

  • Senator- Burgandie Green

  • Senator- Jillian Holwick

  • Senator- Ty James

Hall then announced the SGA officer team for 2024-2025 school year.

  • President – Mary Jane Emerson

  • Vice President – Haley Farran

  • Secretary – Maddyson Tyler

  • Treasurer –Jillian Holwick

Hall commented on the transition, saying, "This year’s SGA officers have set a high bar for leadership and dedication. As we welcome the new officers for next year, we are confident that they will carry forward this legacy of excellence and inclusivity."

The ceremony was a significant occasion, reinforcing the values and aspirations of Labette Community College, and highlighting the outstanding achievements of its students.

For more information about SGA, contact Hall at harrisonh@labette.eduor 620-820-1178.

PR Contacts

Lindi Forbes

Interim Director of Public Relations
(620) 820-1212