Knox to Receive PTK Lifetime Achievement Award

February 23, 2017

Jackson, Mississippi –Nine retiring college presidents/campus CEOs will be honored with the Michael Bennett Lifetime Achievement Award during PTK Catalyst, Phi Theta Kappa's annual convention in Nashville, Tennessee, April 6-8. Phi Theta Kappa is the national honor society of the two year college.

Dr. George Knox, President of Labette Community College, will be one of the nine recipients of this distinguished award. Knox has been the President at LCC since 2005 and will retire in July of 2017.

Michael Bennett Lifetime Achievement Awards are presented to college presidents/campus CEOs at two-year institutions and state community college system directors who are retiring and have provided consistently outstanding support to Phi Theta Kappa chapters and advisors during their careers. They are named in honor of the late Dr. Michael Bennett, longtime president of St. Petersburg College in Florida.

“Dr. Knox has provided constant support for the Phi Theta Kappa chapter here at Labette Community College over the last 12 years. The chapter would not have consistently won regional and international awards without his support,” said LCC PTK Advisor, Tammy Fuentez.

Dr. Knox will also receive the Phi Theta Kappa Regional Distinguished College President Award next Saturday in Wichita at the Kansas/Nebraska Region Convention.

The 2017 Michael Bennett Lifetime Achievement Award recipients are:

Dr. Gail Carberry
Quinsigamond Community College

Dr. Steven Ender
Grand Rapids Community College

Dr. Eileen Holden
Polk State College-Lakeland Campus

Dr. James Jacobs
Macomb Community College

Dr. George Knox
Labette Community College

Dr. William Lewis
Pearl River Community College

Thomas Mohr
Cañada College

Dr. David Sam
Germanna Community College

Dr. Mary Spilde
Lane Community College
Eugene, Oregon

PR Contacts

Janice Reese

Director of Public Relations
(620) 820-1280