LCC Honors Two PTK Students

February 7, 2017

Parsons, KS- Labette Community College has named Janel Baker and Mary Gathoni to the All Kanas Academic Team for 2017. The two Tau Theta Members of Phi Theta Kappa will be honored during a luncheon in Topeka on Thursday, February 16.

Janel Baker
Janel Baker

Kansas is one of 38 states participating in the All-State Academic Team program. The State Academic Teams were introduced in 1994 as a way to provide scholastic recognition to Phi Theta Kappa members, while promoting excellence at two-year colleges. The State Academic Teams are a division of the All-USA Community College Academic Team, presented by USA TODAY, and sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa and Follett Higher Education Group. The country’s finest community college students competed for recognition, spots on the national team and scholarships. The Kansas All-State Academic Team is designed to provide the same kind of recognition to our state’s two-year college scholars by saluting their academic achievement, leadership and service.

Janel Baker is a pre-pharmacy major with a 3.9 grade point average. At Labette Community College, Baker has been an active member of Phi Theta Kappa and Student Ambassadors. In addition, she has been named to the Top 20 Cardinal Award and Who’s Who Among Students in American Colleges and Universities. She has been named to the President’s and Vice President’s honor roll list. Baker plans to transfer to University of Kansas.

Mary Gathoni
Mary Gathoni

Mary Gathoni is a nursing major with a 3.53 grade point average. While attending Labette Community College, Gathoni has been active as a member Phi Theta Kappa Chapter Officer, Diversity Committee and Kansas Association of Nursing Students. She was named with the Top 20 Cardinal Award and Who’s Who in American Universities and Colleges. In addition, she volunteers for schools, church and a nursing home in the community. Gathoni plans to transfer to Pittsburg State University.

Baker and Gathoni will be honored with a medal, certificate and a $300 stipend. Being named to the All-Kansas Academic Team guarantees them a minimum of a $1000 scholarship at one of the six Regents University, Washburn University, and several private colleges in Kansas. Phi Theta Kappa is the national honor society of the two-year college. Students must have at least a 3.5GPA or better to be accepted to the organization. The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is the promotion of scholarship, the development of leadership and service, and the cultivation of fellowship among qualified students.

PR Contacts

Janice Reese

Director of Public Relations
(620) 820-1280