LCC Honors Two PTK Students

February 7, 2018
Davida Fontelroy and Amber Helwig

L to R: Davida Fontelroy and Amber Helwig

Parsons, KS- Labette Community College has named Davida Fontelroy and Amber Helwig to the All Kansas Academic Team for 2018. The two Tau Theta Members of Phi Theta Kappa will be honored during a luncheon in Topeka on Thursday, February 15. 

Kansas is one of 38 states participating in the All-State Academic Team program. The State Academic Teams were introduced in 1994 as a way to provide scholastic recognition to Phi Theta Kappa members, while promoting excellence at two-year colleges. The State Academic Teams are a division of the All-USA Community College Academic Team, presented by USA TODAY, and sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa and Follett Higher Education Group. The country’s finest community college students competed for recognition, spots on the national team and scholarships. The Kansas All-State Academic Team is designed to provide the same kind of recognition to our state’s two-year college scholars by saluting their academic achievement, leadership and service.

Davida Fontelroy is an accounting major with a 3.77 grade point average.  At Labette Community College, Fontelroy has been an active member of Phi Theta Kappa and served as the Vice President of Phi Beta Lambda. In addition, she is the student representative for the LCC Library Committee. She has been named to the President’s and Dean’s honor roll list. Fontelroy plans to transfer to Pittsburg State University in Pittsburg, KS. 

Amber Helwig is a communication major with a 3.85 grade point average.  While attending Labette Community College, Helwig has been active as a Phi Theta Kappa Chapter Officer and Five Star member and a Student Ambassador.  She is a volunteer for the Ronald McDonald House in Joplin, MO. Helwig has been named to the Dean’s honor roll list. She plans to transfer to Kansas State University in Manhattan, KS.  

Fontelroy and Helwig will be honored with a medal, certificate and a $300 stipend. Being named to the All-Kansas Academic Team guarantees them a minimum of a $1000 scholarship at one of the six Regents University, Washburn University, and several private colleges in Kansas. Phi Theta Kappa is the national honor society of the two-year college. Students must have at least a 3.5GPA or better to be accepted to the organization. The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is the promotion of scholarship, the development of leadership and service, and the cultivation of fellowship among qualified students.

PR Contacts

Bethany Kendrick

Director of Public Relations
(620) 820-1280

Kimi Dowling

PR/Graphic Design Specialist
(620) 820-1240