LCC PTK Earns High Honors at Region Convention

March 6, 2018
Front Row: l to r: Issac Younis; Davida Fontelroy; Nicolas Ross; Robert Armstrong; Stephanie Bush; Megan Thompson; Tau Theta Chapter Advisor, Tammy Fuentez Middle Row: l to r: Korenne Bryant; BryAnna White; Sydnie Davis; Amber Helwig Last Row: l to r: Mallorie Keltz; Lora Tanner; Newton Grady; Joshua Elliott; Nicole Smith; Henrike Kattoll; Sara Rightmer PTK 2018

Parsons, KS- The Labette Community College Tau Theta Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society took 18 members, advisors, and alumni to the Kansas/Nebraska Region Convention. The convention was March 2-4, 2018 in Lincoln, Nebraska.  

Convention attendees heard from motivational speaker Kevin Kush and the International President for Phi Theta Kappa, Amanda Karpinski. The chapter participated in leadership activities as well as helped package meals for 6,000 people in need.  During the convention, LCC PTK student, Robert Armstrong was elected as the 2018-2019 Regional President. 

Other awards received by the Tau Theta chapter include:

Distinguished Chapter Officer Team Winners – Robert Armstrong, Stephanie Bush, Amber Helwig, Henrike Kattoll, Nicole Smith

Distinguished Chapter Member, 2nd Place – Sydnie Davis

Distinguished Chapter Officer, Honorable Mention – Stephanie Bush, Amber Helwig

Achievement in Literature Winner – Henrike Kattoll

Achievement in Art, Ceramics/Sculpture Winner – Nicolas Ross

Achievement in Art, Ceramics/Sculpture, 4th Place – Joshua Elliott

Achievement in Art, Drawing/Painting, 2nd Place – BryAnna White

Achievement in Art, Drawing/Painting, 4th Place – Issac Younis

Achievement in Art, Photography, 2nd Place – Issac Younis

Achievement in Art, Photography, 5th Place – Amber Helwig


College Project Award Winner

Honors in Action Project Award, Honorable Mention

Sister Chapter Award Winner

Service Award, 2nd Place

Great Idea Award, 3rd Place

Most Outstanding Chapter, 4th Place

Yearbook Award, 5th Place

Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society for two-year colleges. PTK membership is by invitation only. Students must have a 3.25 or better GPA to be considered. For more information about the Tau Theta Chapter, email

PR Contacts

Bethany Kendrick

Director of Public Relations
(620) 820-1280

Kimi Dowling

PR/Graphic Design Specialist
(620) 820-1240