LCC Honors Two PTK Students

January 30, 2019

Parsons, KS- Labette Community College has named Sarah Rightmer and Lora Tanner to the All Kansas Academic Team for 2019. The two Tau Theta Members of Phi Theta Kappa will be honored during a luncheon in Topeka on Thursday, March 7. PTK is the national honor society of the two year college.  

Kansas is one of 38 states participating in the All-State Academic Team program. The State Academic Teams were introduced in 1994 as a way to provide scholastic recognition to Phi Theta Kappa members, while promoting excellence at two-year colleges. The State Academic Teams are a division of the All-USA Community College Academic Team, presented by USA TODAY, and sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa and Follett Higher Education Group. The country’s finest community college students competed for recognition, spots on the national team and scholarships. The Kansas All-State Academic Team is designed to provide the same kind of recognition to our state’s two-year college scholars by saluting their academic achievement, leadership and service.

Sarah Rightmer

Sarah Rightmer is an English major with a 3.71 grade point average. At Labette Community College, Rightmer serves as the Phi Theta Kappa Chapter Vice President of Public Relations and a Competitive Edge Five Star Member. In addition, Rightmer serves on the LCC Strategic Operations Committee and volunteers on the campus and in the community. She has been named to the President’s honor roll list and TRiO Student of the Month. Rightmer plans to transfer to Pittsburg State University in Pittsburg, KS. 

Lora Tanner

Lora Tanner is an Early Childhood Education major with a 4.0 grade point average. While attending Labette Community College, Tanner has been active as a Phi Theta Kappa member, a Leaders of Promise Scholar, and a Competitive 5 Star Member. She is an active member and volunteer for her church. Tanner has been named to the President’s honor roll list. She plans to transfer to Pittsburg State University, Pittsburg, KS. 

Rightmer and Tanner will be honored with a medal, certificate and a $300 stipend. Being named to the All-Kansas Academic Team guarantees them a minimum of a $1000 scholarship at one of the six Regents University, Washburn University, and several private colleges in Kansas. Phi Theta Kappa is the national honor society of the two-year college. Students must have at least a 3.5GPA or better to be accepted to the organization. The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is the promotion of scholarship, the development of leadership and service, and the cultivation of fellowship among qualified students.

PR Contacts

Bethany Kendrick

Director of Public Relations
(620) 820-1280